Booties and Timmi settling down well


Looks like the girls have settled their accounts with each other at last. What a long time, they went home mid December after all. Kudos to their mum and dad for being patient and understanding. the surprise though is that Timmi is alpha over Booties! What a role reversal.

Email update on 9 April 07:

… Yep, the kitties have worked out their pecking order and Timmi is the reigning “Queen”. We’re keeping Bootie’s name but we’re thinking of changing Timmi’s name… she doesn’t seem to respond to her name.. I think she responds to our voices.

Compare to this on 8 Jan 07 :

Hope things are well both at home and at work. In case you’re wondering how Timmi and Booties are doing, here’s an update:

They’re both healthy and eating well. You’re right about Natural Balance, their coats are now more silky and soft. The patch on Timmi’s head has also improved, the fur is growing back nicely. Booties has been scratching her right ear quite abit. I’m sending themto Jane’s place for grooming on tuesday. If Booties still scratches her ear, I’ll send her to the vet. By the way, which vet did they seepreviously? By any chance, would you have their previous vaccination cards/ history? I need to know when I should send them for their vaccinations.

They are still fighting. They woke me up at 6am this morning! I wonder how you manage with 6 cats…

Sometimes they even seem to be avoiding each other. They’re hardly ever near each other, except during meal times.

I see Timmi approaching Booties but Booties will hiss at her.

I also notice that Timmi waits outside the bedroom door (either in sight or hidden) when Booties uses the litter pan.

Timmi will then either “ambush” Booties when she’s about to leave the pan or when she’s leaving the room. Bootieshates it and will hiss at her. This happens every other day. I’m just wondering if Timmi wants to play but Booties is
not interested. What do you think?

I usually don’t intervene unless I think one of them may get hurt. Whenever they fight, I tend to clap my hands/ scold the both of them – to show that I disapprove of them fighting. Sigh! I wonder if they will ever get along.

Compare that to this sent on 16 Dec 07, 2 days after they got home:

Just thought I update you on the 2 girls. They’re doing well and have settled down. T is also getting used to the girls. As I speak, Booties is now napping on my living room sofa beside T who’s playing with his playstation.

Timmi is also doing better, she’s no longer hiding, although she runs for cover whenever she hears my neighbours come home. She’s really curious and constantly wants to run into my bedroom and study (these 2 rooms are not cat friendly yet). Booties is very affectionate to me and T. Earlier today she slept on my tummy while I napped on the couch! Timmi is friendly to the both of us but she can be shy at times. T and I are giving them alot of attention, petting, praises and snuggling. We’re are officially their slaves!

I’m slowly changing their dry and wet food to Natural Balance (dry) and snappy tom(wet). But I find that snappy tom has a very thick jelly base, I’m wondering if thats ok for kitties. I have doubts about fuzzie cat canned food as I read somewhere that cats can get addicted to tuna and will not want to try other things. As it is, I find that the girls dont eat much of the dry food but love the fuzzie cat canned food. What do you think?

Pictorial update today:

booties-on-lap_20070411.jpg

booties-snooze-on-couch_20070411.jpg

timmi-in-kitchen_20070411.jpg

timmi-pose_20070411.jpg

timmi-snooze_20070411.jpg

One response to “Booties and Timmi settling down well

  1. Pingback: SOS: helping kitties deal with Mum’s pregnancy, babies and/or kids « Tipped Ear Clan