Dogs, cats and SaaS


Stumbled on this interesting post by Isabel Wang about the effort she needed to put in just to faciliate online participation for her friends, family and causes she believes in.

I found myself nodding my head in agreement about this bit:

While volunteering at the animal shelter, I’ve noticed there tends to be clear dividing lines between dog people and cat people, not to mention fans of Beagles vs Poodles, Boxers vs Labs, etc. I was surprised when a woman spent ages gazing at a ferocious Pomeranian with matted hair. She wanted a Pomeranian; she’s always been a Pomeranian person.

Maybe the same kind of self-identification explains why my friend Tara was initially hesitant to post photos on the Flickr account I set up for her non-profit? She said she’s just not a social networking person. But since she does see herself as a media person, Flickr/YouTube/etc became acceptable tools after I brought up Richard Rosenblatt’s notion of ChannelMe.

I am not an IT idiot – my work, when I had a job, was being a business analyst and supporting global users on the company’s HR info systems. However, while I yahoo my friends enthusiastically, I am just not a dedicated netizen, and I baulked at putting my thoughts and feelings online. I just felt strange sharing such things with all and sundry.

It certainly took time, but in the end, the drive to be part of the solution – creating awareness, helping cats find homes, helping cats and other animals find a voice, give vent to frustrations at humanity’s indifference to the problems we’ve put on the Earth and everybody else tipped the scales for me.

I’ve been trying to drag btmao into it – better to have someone die with you than die alone. Truly, despite what she feels, she is a far better communicator, simply because her thoughts and writing is so straightforward and digestible. Plus, she’s fun, being the family clown, not the uptight firstborn who thinks too much.

PS: SaaS explained.

2 responses to “Dogs, cats and SaaS

  1. A long time ago I heard a really good speech by the editor of Linux Journal. When he meets people who can’t imagine themselves as “bloggers”, he tells them blogging is just like email. The only difference is, you’re writing future friends instead of current ones. So there’s no need to worry about the image you’re projecting – just talk casually about what’s on your mind and you’ll end up an audience who is interested in your views. That seemed like a good way to look at blogging.

    I hope you’ll convince btmao to join you! 🙂

  2. Isabel,
    Thanks. I rather thought that too, but on a deeper level, it came to me that the concept of blogging is like one of those I-Live-In-A-Display-Window publicity stunts, except that the glass panes are one-way only and the blogger is on the reflective side. Still think so =P

    Re btmao, sometimes I almost get violent thinking about the easy life she leads on the blog… still trying hard to motivate her to move her stubborn butt! 😐