Poor financially, but rich in compassion


In No Bank Accounts, Dawn spoke about how some caregivers who can’t even afford to open a bank account (the de-facto national bank of Singapore, POSB requires a monthly minimum of SGD$500.00 to be maintained in its basic savings accounts – the POSB PassBook account- or charges will be imposed), do not let their financial straitlaces hinder their efforts to sterilise or provide medical attention to the cats they’re caring for.

Dawn says:

I have to say that since I joined CWS, I have been surprised by how many people do not have bank accounts and wanted to know how they could ask for reimbursements. Some mentioned the minimum amount to start an account was too high for them – it’s amazing to me that they continue however to sterilise the cats and bring them into the vet, though they clearly aren’t well to do. It’s also very impressive that they are willing to do so despite their financial situation. Often people who claim they cannot afford to sterilise the cats are much better off then these caregivers who do.

I remember this post Dawn made too, where she remarked:

Someone made the comment that he felt Singaporeans were busy and that’s why people do not volunteer. The session wrapped up before I could answer that. I think that frankly everyone is busy – it’s what you make a priority of. There seems to be this impression that one volunteers because one has a lot of free time – in fact I find people who actively volunteer are probably the most busy people I know. One of the speakers on the panel for example volunteers with several different groups and works part-time someone too – yet she volunteers. I think countries with higher volunteerism rates are not any less busy – but that their priorities may be different, whereby giving something back to the community is considered to be important.

Marcus_Martin_20060121x
HELP is not something you need to search deep or far to give… (Featured: Martin and Marcus, of Area3)

Martin_Marcus_20070909-1x
… what time you have to do what you deemed needful or beneficial is determined by you.

Life is what you make of it. I’m one to talk, having walked out on an unhappy job situation a few months ago, with naivete, or perhaps pig-headedness, convincing me that I can attempt to feed myself and still continue to fulfil my commitments, both minionly and otherwise, by earning money through an alternative livelihood. Mid-life crisis was a great excuse for my reckless job-leaving while the horse breathed, but it’s been beyond floggable for a fair bit now. Reality has caught up, (especially with the kitties piling up vet bills, to the point that we’re asking for help), and given the mash I call my brain a few more good mulching whacks.

I will admit to being tempted to try for the CWS Adminstrative Officer position opening up due to Dawn’s imminent departure. But once again, reality has brought me up short – I still have no means of plugging the gap that the CWS salary would pull in, if they would have me.

But back to topic, helping doesn’t mean giving up everything you have or signing a contract with the devil. Gauge what you can give and adjust as you go along. No one needs to burnout or burn the address book.

The important thing is to make a start.

Comments are closed.