Small mercy for cowardly softies


I was reading this post on the Washington Humane Society’s blog.

From fostering this handsome boy, the blog writer has become his new parent.

China Man was adopted from Washington Humane Society
Great news for the new mum and kitty!

It also set me off thinking. For certains reasons, we are not able to foster any of the cats we rescued. But thankfully, Foster Mum is able to do so on our behalf. Given the fact that we’re already finding it unbearable to “give up” the ones adopted out, we’d be even more hard-pressed to actually adopt them out if we had been able to foster them, it is really a mercy to us heart-cowards to have Foster Mum.

Kudos to all fosters, who open their hearts and homes to needy animals, and then find that steel-nerve to let go when these kiddies find permanent homes to go to… or decide to give these kiddies the homes they need with them.

2 responses to “Small mercy for cowardly softies

  1. I am ashamed of my fostering track record. I’ve adopted 3 out of 3 kitties I was supposed to find homes for. So hard not to get attached… I have the greatest admiration for REAL foster parents who are able to let go.

  2. Aww, but I’m sure your kitties are happy for it. It’s the thought that counts, anyway. 🙂