Recycled Pets


This is a beautiful article, please share it with everybody you know who may be thinking of getting a pet:

Recycled pets

By Green Living Tips | Published 05/18/2008 | pets

Looking for an animal companion? Consider a recycled pet

Recycling pets doesn’t mean turning your cat into a bird or your dog into a ferret, but it is a wonderful green way to approach the acquisition of your next animal companion. Environmental issues aside, it’s also a very humane choice.

The tragedy

My first “job” was as a volunteer at an animal shelter at the age of 11. At that time, I had my heart set on becoming a vet. Such was my passion and commitment, aside from the usual walking and cleaning duties of a volunteer, the staff at the shelter allowed me to participate in cruelty callouts, minor operations and the destruction and disposal of animals. I got to see it all and participate in much of it – the good, the bad and the horrid. Even at that age I understood that being a vet wasn’t going to be easy and I really wanted to be prepared.

(Click title or here to read full article. Also scroll down to the end for other related articles about greening your pet. Very insightful.)

For more pet refs:

I like this green ref (list of interesting articles at the end): Hot! Hot! Hot!

One response to “Recycled Pets

  1. I really hope dont hate dogs. I love both dogs and cats and I have them in a very safe coexistence. As a matter af fact ëven if there bodily languages are different they are real friends!