If you think babies are cute, you’ll love sun bear cubs


(If you find this post informative, you might like to check out these.)


Am I puppy cute
Cute baby sun bear

Or am I cuter?
Cute baby sun bear

Please visit the Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Program blog, and help me stay with my mummy instead of being orphaned and ending up looking like this, slowly dying.

Sun bear cub suffering in captivity

Look at me after I become a pet. Do I look happy and well-care for? I pace endlessly when I was first captured, bored and stressed and longing for my mummy’s gentle comforting touch.

But I can’t keep it up because I soon lose the will and energy to do anything at all. Would you be happy living like this when you’ve been living free in the forest, with your mother caring for your every need?

Sun bear cub suffering in captivity

This is not life for a sun bear cub. I should be suckling on my mummy for comfort and for my milk, not being frightened, and stressed from watching her butchered and cut up for food, crying with her as she die. It may be lucky for me that I did not end up being eaten myself, but this is no life for a sun bear cub. I will die anyway, and instead of dying a quick frightening death being butchered for food, I die a slow painful lonely death. How many more will be brought into this prison to take my place?

Sun bear baby suffering in captivity

Please help, there are very few sun bears left in the wild.

The Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Program blog is founded and managed by Mr Wong Siew Te who has studied and helped sun bears for a very long time already.

Mr Wong Siew Te and an orphan sun bear cub

Please see Mr Budak‘s post, Bears from bikes too. It is about a movie about bears and our situation now. Mr Budak says it so much better, and faster, than little me.


(If you find this post informative, you might like to check out these.)

Related posts:

3 responses to “If you think babies are cute, you’ll love sun bear cubs

  1. I love sun bears, and am glad you are looking out for them!! that is wonderful.

  2. JSHAW,
    We’re not the ones running the Bornean Sun Bear Conservation program, merely bloggers trying to help the program spread the word and awareness. Do visit the program’s blog at http://sunbears.wildlifedirect.org/ and leave your words of appreciation there.

  3. I think locking up animals in cages is creul and mean all animals should be free not locked up in cages its just like prison.